Home | Wine Regions | AVA GIS | Data Descriptions | Help | About | Contact

Texas has eight officially recognized winegrowing regions; these are known as American Viticultural Areas (AVA). The most important features that characterize a winegrowing region are the interrelated factors of climate, soils, and topography.

What is an AVA ?

Select a region for description

Bell Mountain
Escondido Valley
Fredericksburg (THC)
Mesilla Valley
Texas Davis Mountains
Texas Hill Country
Texas High Plains

Select a region to enter GIS

Texas High Plains Texas Hill Country Texoma Mesilla Valley Escondido Valley Fredericksburg (THC) Bell Mountain Texas Davis Mountains

This website presents general descriptions and technical data to characterize the growing conditions within the AVA of Texas. It further provides an interactive geographic information system (GIS) that enables detailed spatial exploration of each AVA.

What is GIS ?

The Winegrowing Regions of Texas was created and is maintained by the Knowledge Engineering Laboratory as a component of the Texas Winegrape Network.
Website design by Subodh Prabhu, Elvis Takow, and Ed Hellman
© Copyright 2008 Knowledge Engineering Laboratory